Android 11 Developer Preview three has a brand new setting for app permissions, permitting them to be robotically revoked in case you do not use the app for lengthy sufficient. Disabled by default, the descriptively-named “Auto revoke permissions” setting will revoke permissions for a given app if it is not used “for just a few months.”

The brand new setting is all the best way down on the backside of the App permissions part for every app (App data -> Permissions), and the permissions it might probably revoke appears to differ by app.

The brand new setting is current in Android 11 DP3 and lives on the backside of the App permissions part, inside App data for every app. (That is accessible in a number of methods, like by long-pressing an app icon within the recents menu -> App data -> Permissions, or through Settings -> Apps & notifications -> the app you need to see -> Permissions.) As famous, it appears to be disabled by default, and we do not know if every other logic may be set to set off it. Permissions dialogs themselves in Android 11 DP3 are no totally different from DP2 that we are able to inform.

The setting can also’t revoke simply any permission, it solely impacts a few of them, and that appears to differ by app — or it is simply buggy, the listing appears to alter after I test it at totally different occasions.

Some adjustments in Android 11 solely apply to newly put in apps, however this modification does not appear to be amongst them. Even apps you put in for the primary time on DP3 have the setting disabled.

We won’t actually take a look at this characteristic, given it apparently takes months to be triggered, so we do not know if it is really purposeful. Nevertheless, I’ve gone forward and enabled it for a complete pile of apps on my Pixel 4, and we’ll see in just a few months, I assume.


Above: Notification for revoked permissions. Beneath: A listing of permissions eliminated.

As you may see, the number of apps is fairly odd. Many are built-in apps, and a few (like Trusted Face and CarrierDefaultApp) aren’t actually user-accessible to start with. Different circumstances, like Google Match and OneDrive, present that Android 11 has revoked fundamental permissions these apps would wish to work. Hopefully, none of this finally ends up being an issue, although our tipster did not declare to be having any hassle.

Up to now, none of us at Android Police has obtained an identical notification but, and I am unable to observe down this “permissions eliminated” part in Settings that the notification hyperlinks to. Our tipster tells us they did not really allow the per-app setting to robotically revoke permissions, and I can verify that the setting to robotically revoke permissions seems to be enabled by default on my units operating Android 11.